Rustic Dragon – Profiting Off Others?

Posted on Updated on

3020966500_e972a5a51e
UPDATE: Answer to the question is no, really, and the communication issues between Rustic and the 3rd party have been resolved. Outcome: Rustic Dragon Still Awesome.
Until now, I have held Rustic Dragon in somewhat high regards. He was a good member to have in the Shroud of the Avatar community, and he brought in a lot of publicity at least even if most of it was generated for current members of the higher pledge level variety. I felt kind of bad that he moved his life down to Austin, did a decent job, got let go and moved somewhere else again. That is a real bitch.
Rustic has been unloading shit on E-Bay for quite some time now and isn’t shy about letting everyone know about it. I don’t know if the stuff he is selling was already owned by him or if he has been collecting new things, having LB sign them, and then turning them for a bit more. But that is beyond the point.
Point is that while my bots were scanning G+ feeds, I picked up on an interesting comment. Here are the screens and the comment:
rustic-sell-map1 rustic-sell-map2

I don’t have a problem with it being modified as it is itself a fan work based on the game maps, but I can’t say I like that my work is being sold like this without even an attempt to contact me. That my name is spelt wrong (‘Hai-Etlik’ not ‘Hai-Entik’) doesn’t particularly help.

sell sell sell!

– Kevin Smith

Kenneth is right, it is a pretty valid concern! You can see an example, currently, of the item here and in the description it also mentions signed by Lord British:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Hearth-of-Britannia-HoBLotH-Ultima-Double-Sided-Cloth-Map-Exclusive-/151584133102?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item234b1e4fee
Here is some additional information and what not on this from the Ultima Codex:
http://ultimacodex.com/2013/03/a-truly-fine-map-of-britannia/
http://ultimacodex.com/2014/11/check-out-the-hearth-of-britannias-full-colour-map-of-britannia-from-the-hobloth/
http://ultimacodex.com/2015/02/buy-rustic-dragons-extra-hobloth-trinkets/
http://inspired.ultimacodex.com/map-of-britannia/
I am pretty surprised by this! Disappointed too.
9 thoughts on “Rustic Dragon – Profiting Off Others?

    Joseph Edward Toschlog said:
    February 11, 2015 at 8:12 am

    For whatever it’s worth, I *did* try to contact him, through several different people and several different stages but couldn’t get his contact info anywhere. G+ doesn’t make it easy to get ahold of someone unless there’s mutual adding to circles or some crap. (I’m not a fan of G+) I’ve always intended to give this guy a cut if I could ever get in contact with him but this post here is literally the first I’ve seen that he’s noticed. (again, I’m not a G+ fan and don’t follow it)

    He still hasn’t contacted me. Not that it matters. Thank you for pointing this out, hopefully I can actually get ahold of him now so we can work something out. 🙂

      insanemembrain responded:
      February 11, 2015 at 8:41 am

      Then he is a bit of a pratt to be sure, and silence isnt always golden 😉

      With you on google plus, its what happens when you give kids a keyboard and let marketing drive them.

        Joseph Edward Toschlog said:
        February 11, 2015 at 1:03 pm

        In his defense, I wasn’t able to actually reach him as I never found an email address. I’ve restarted attempts to reach him, both by commenting on the post you cited above and through other community members as I originally tried. I’ve always been willing to split the profits had we gotten in contact but I feel worst about misspelling his name. 😦 I had been chatting with someone about the map when I was coloring it and they misspelled his name and it stuck that way in my head. It’s no excuse for not proofreading, certainly, but it *is* embarrassing.

        Joseph Edward Toschlog said:
        February 20, 2015 at 12:03 pm

        I’m happy to say that Kevin and I have come to an agreement and map sales will continue once we hammer out a few more details after I move. It’s important to note that I’m only selling the extra ones from the event and I have no intention of ever having more printed.

        Also, just to bury the train of thought, I’ve never had Richard sign anything of mine since the mass-signing. I have too much respect for both Richard’s time and the faith the community has put in me to abuse such access. I *have* had things signed for other people however because that’s my M.O. 🙂

          insanemembrain responded:
          February 20, 2015 at 12:14 pm

          Richard is a nice guy, sometimes I think he would sign the letter I sent him if I asked!

          I’ve made an edit to the post, glad there wasn’t ever any funny business!

    Chaos said:
    February 11, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    I’ve always thought Rustic should of been the Community Manager, he would of filled the role well, he was the only one actually making a connection with the players, going out of his way to help, even until today there is no one attempting to do that. I don’t know the details of what happened with Rustic but letting him go for that while was up there with one of the dumbest things Portalarium has done.

      insanemembrain responded:
      February 11, 2015 at 2:55 pm

      Yeah I have no idea either, my spies cannot penetrate that far into the Port inner circle, but agree it was a mistake!

    SBWomack said:
    June 20, 2015 at 9:31 am

    pretty fail to blame someone using art from a friend and having a misunderstanding, while using other’s work yourself and not saying jack shit: http://sbwomack.deviantart.com/art/The-Lich-355987065?q=gallery%3ASBWomack%2F38506635&qo=3

      insanemembrain responded:
      June 23, 2015 at 12:35 pm

      I’m not selling it. Would you like me to discontinue use of this picture and then commission a new one from Dennis Loubet?

Leave a Reply

